Share to Twitter Share to Facebook  
Reply with Video
Colorado State Senate Majority
September 19, 2012
CONTACT: Kyle Piccola, Community Outreach Specialist
(303) 866-2540,

Senator Carroll to honor Aurora theater shooting first responders 

AURORA— Senator Morgan Carroll (D-Aurora), along with Representatives Su Ryden (D-Aurora),  Rhonda Fields (D-Aurora), and Nancy Todd (D-Aurora), will host a town hall on September 20 to honor first responders to the Aurora theater shooting and connect the Aurora community with the local organizations that help keep the city safe and healthy. The Aurora Police Department, Aurora Fire Department, and Rural/Metro Ambulance will be honored for their life-saving efforts following the recent theater shooting. The community will also have the opportunity to speak directly to these and other organizations in Aurora that work to keep them safe. Each organization will host a booth where they will speak with community members and provide information about the different services they provide.

Last year, Forbes magazine ranked Aurora the 9th safest city in the United States, and Senator Carroll wants to continue to keep it a safe place to live and raise families. 

Senator Carroll offered the following comment:

“Community safety is an issue I am extremely passionate about. After Aurora’s recent tragedy, I think it’s crucial to reaffirm the Aurora community’s confidence in the safety of their city. Aurora still remains one of the safest places to live in the United States and it is because of the incredible coalition of organizations that work together to make it that way.”

All of Senator Carroll's town halls are free and open to the public.

Participating organizations include:

  • Aurora Fire Department
  • Aurora Police Department School Resource Officers
  • Aurora Public Schools
  • Rural/Metro Ambulance
  • Denver Regional Council of Governments and the Area Agency on Aging
  • Children’s Hospital Colorado
  • Safe Kids Metro Denver
  • Aurora Mental Health Center
  • Philips 66 Pipeline safety
WHAT: Community Safety Town Hall 
WHO: State Senator Morgan Carroll, State Representative Su Ryden, State Representative Rhonda Fields, State Representative Nancy Todd 
WHEN: Thursday, September 20, 7:00 p.m. 
WHERE: Community College of Aurora, 16000 E Centretech Parkway, Aurora                             (rotunda of Student Services Building)

About the Senate Majority

Twenty Democrats comprise the majority of Colorado's 35-member Senate. Leadership for the 68th General Assembly includes Senate President Brandon Shaffer; President Pro Tempore Betty Boyd; Majority Leader John Morse; Assistant Majority Leader Lois Tochtrop, and Caucus Chair Morgan Carroll.

Breaking news, legislator biographies and photos are available at